The Museum of Zakaria Paliashvili Tbilisi Opera and Ballet State Theatre
The museum was founded at the inception of the Opera House. It preserved unique exhibits, depicting the activities of the Barbierri Italian opera company (located at the Karvasla building erected by architect Scudieri in 1851), Russian ballet and opera companies, the visits of other foreign artists, as well as the materials of opera performances held at the new Opera House (modern building) built by architect Schreter in 1896, the whole history of Georgian opera and ballet art. The fire, which broke out at the Opera House in 1973, completely annihilated this rich museum. Later the funds of the museum were filled up with people's help.
Today the museum of the Opera House is located in a large hall on the fifth floor of the building. Among the exhibits are programs of both old and new performances, playbills, invitations, manuscripts, photos, negatives, paintings, drawings, sculptures, metal works, coinage, examples of applied art, books, models of the Opera House and its stages, costumes, memorial things and gifts. Today the process of reorganization of the museum is underway. Its aim is to unite archival, exhibition and scientific-educational functions. The so-called Mirror hall of the theatre often holds exhibitions dedicated to the first nights and jubilee celebrations. Schoolchildren, students and guests of the city often come here on excursions. The Museum supplies the employees of the theatre departments, press, television, radio and other organizations as well as individual persons with the materials; carries out consultations for students and researchers.
The museum is open daily from 10:00-18:00. Monday is the day off.
See Archive of Performances and Events